Aviation studies and going to America

Monkey Man

Hi all,

First of all, I'd like to apologise myself for not writing in Dutch. I'm from origin American and I live for almost 3 years in the Netherlands. I can read Dutch, though it'll take some time, but writing is something more difficult, though I'm still learning Dutch everyday I wake up in the land of the mills and the tulips :blabla:

This is my first post so I'll give a little introduction about myself.

I'm Tom and in September I'll be 18 years. I lived in America for 12 years in the Beehive State (State of Utah) in a little town near Salt Lake City. After that me and my two brothers moved with my parents for almost 2 years to South Africa. In South Africa we met another family (Dutch) and my parents were offered a job in Holland. After the 2 years in South Africa, we then went to Europe to Amsterdam.

So that's the global story how I've got here.

As long as I can remember, I have the dream of becoming a pilot. In the US, it's a bit easier and cheaper to start flight training. There are no plans to go back to the US as long as my parents are having fun working here and living here. We got a residence permit for 5 years right now and as long as I know, we'll go back to the US when the term of 5 years has been reached.

Going back to my dream. In Europe doing flight training is a lot expensive. I absolutely don't want to stay in Europe for the rest of my life. No offense, but the whole attitude of people in Europe is really different as that of the American. I got some nice friends here, but the whole attitude is horrible. Being rude to your parents, having a great mouth at your teacher, not going to church, not giving about other people. In the US things are far better. Most people I know in the US are going to church, are showing respect to their parents and teachers and other persons, etc.