PPL Theory in English - in The Netherlands?

mattblack

Hi all,

I’m new to flying, and I’m trying to work towards obtaining my PPL. However, I’m having difficulties as an Englishman in the Netherlands.

There are no theory courses I can take in English, even though to be a pilot you must speak English. I’m therefore doing everything self-study (Which is fine, I work well on my own).

However, my problem is with the test. Where can I do the theory test in English? My flying club doesn’t think it’s possible to do and think that I may have to go all the way back to England – just to do my theory test?

Is this right? Or is there any way I can do my test in English in Holland?

Thanks in advance,
~Matt

hey mattblack,
in my opinion it's possible to do it in English. I finished my PPL theory last february. But i'm not sure if it is possible to choose either English or Dutch.
you can mail IVW they know the answer for sure, or otherwise CBR.
you can find them on www.ivw.nl or www.cbr.nl

hope this wil help you,

good luck with your exams!

regards
BCM

The thing is, if you would do the exams in the UK, the results might not (or will not) be accepted by the IVW. This would mean you will also have to take your practical exam in the UK, and must first receive your CAA-JAA licence. Or MAYBE you could find a CAA-examiner in the Netherlands, but still, you would first receive a CAA-licence.

This would also complicate the annual renewal-procedure and all.

However, if you have a basic understanding of Dutch, and practice a lot with the PPL-exam-collections (which should be available, as far as I know) you should be able to complete the exams in Dutch.

Hi variantie,

Is the Dutch exam not in complex technical aviation-speak Dutch? Do you think there would be someone available to translate a question during the test if needed?